?

Log in

No account? Create an account
Social Life of Information - Accretions

Fata Morgana
2004-06-28 23:55
Social Life of Information
Public
The Social Life of Information confronts the assumptions held by many technology corporations and half-assed interface designers eager to stuff more controls down the throats of their (presumably compliant) users: all the users want is the right information, and they will otherwise take care of themselves.

The basic thesis presented in the preface of Social Life of Information is this: you can tell that you've made a good tool, one that acknowledges and respects the social context of the user, if your users will fight to keep it in the face of competing technologies. Unfortunately, most tools don't endure or "fight back" in this way; instead, they "bite back," creating more problems than they solve. This kind of design is what the authors refer to as "tunnel design," where you focus exclusively on the information that you are presenting and ignore the deeper contextual information and values of users and the organizations of which they are part.

The authors, like Papanek thirty years before them, stress that it's important that everyone have an awareness of design, not just designers. Like Schumacher, they point out that we often overlook the infrastructure and social organizations that enable information. As long as it works well, this infrastructure is invisible, but recognizing and leveraging it is crucial to creating a good design that will "fight back."

Chapter 1 begins with some quotations, including this anonymous one that I don't agree with: "On an average weekday the New York Times contains more information than any contemporary of Shakespeare's would have acquired in a lifetime." (Perhaps it contains more worldly factoids than a contemporary of Shakespeare's may know, but I don't think it contains more information ...)

Despite the recent glut of information most who lament that we should return to "simpler times" when we weren't deluged with information wouldn't really want to do that - conveniences like phones, ATMs, electricity, and sanitation do make life much easier. (dag29580863 pointed out in the reading group meeting that it may be the rate of change of technologies rather than the technologies themselves that elicits anachronism.) This doesn't mean that these things can't be improved. Often, "improvements" consist of just adding more information (e.g. "how to use the help system"), or waiting until technologies that supply the information are bigger and faster, but both of these can and often do exacerbate the problem.

Organizations and other social structures - even things like paper (hence the predictions of paperless offices) - are seen by infoenthusiasts as impediments to information, rather than useful and important parts of our social lives. Information enthusiasts assume that the answers to all questions can be found digitally, online (e.g. Microsoft's "Where do you want to go today?"). Economists Downes and Mui said in the 1930's that organizations will only form and persist when they lower "transaction costs" of information, but despite the dramatic lowering of transaction costs recently, corporations are bigger than ever (and trans-national to boot) and distance universities have up to half a million students. (Maybe some of this is due to the scarcity of an ideas commons that Lawrence Lessig bemoans - present instantiations of intellectual property favor the large corporation with the extensive patent portfolio.)

Infoenthusiasts often think of people as just information processors that can potentially be replaced with computers, but in many cases people serve more functions than just information aggregation, filtering, and dissemination. Infoenthusiasts further claim that the digital age will naturally cause decentralization, but in reality centralization is easier than ever because messages can be sent across large distances so quickly and management structures don't have any reason to give up their power. People and social structures make information useful.
Comment | 2 Comments | Share | Link






(Anonymous)
2004-09-15 13:18 (UTC)
Serving on UCSA's board of dir
Alprazolam (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/alprazolam.html) Depakote Er (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/depakote-er.html) Zocor Side Effects (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/zocor-side-effects.html) Premarin Side Effects (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/premarin-side-effects.html) Ambien Side Effects (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/ambien-side-effects.html) Prescription Drug Information (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/prescription-drug-information.html) Prozac Side Effects (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/prozac-side-effects.html) Zyprexa (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/zyprexa.html) Valtrex (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/valtrex.html) Vicoprofen (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/vicoprofen.html) Premarin (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/premarin.html) Prescription Drugs (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/prescription-drugs.html) Celexa Side Effects (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/celexa-side-effects.html) Lipitor Side Effects (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/lipitor-side-effects.html) Canadian Pharmacy (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/canadian-pharmacy.html) Buy Hydrocodone (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/buy-hydrocodone.html) Meridia (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/meridia.html) Generic Viagra (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/generic-viagra.html) Wellbutrin Xl (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/wellbutrin-xl.html) Lorazepam Side Effects (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/lorazepam-side-effects.html) Cheap Adipex (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/cheap-adipex.html) Skelaxin (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/skelaxin.html) Celexa (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/celexa.html) Prevacid Side Effects (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/prevacid-side-effects.html) Hydrocodone (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/hydrocodone.html) New Medications (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/new-medications.html) Vioxx (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/vioxx.html) Remeron (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/remeron.html) Carisoprodol Problems (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/carisoprodol-problems.html) Oxycodone (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/oxycodone.html) Albuterol Inhaler (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/albuterol-inhaler.html) Zyprexa Side Effects (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/zyprexa-side-effects.html) Neurontin (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/neurontin.html) Ultram Addiction (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/ultram-addiction.html) Prempro (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/prempro.html) Generic Propecia (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/generic-propecia.html) Phentermine Online (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/phentermine-online.html) Glucophage (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/glucophage.html) Vicoprofen Dosage (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/vicoprofen-dosage.html) Diazepam No Rx (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/diazepam-no-rx.html) Cheap Meridia (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/cheap-meridia.html) Valium (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/valium.html) Imitrex Side Effects (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/imitrex-side-effects.html) Online Pharmacies (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/online-pharmacies.html) Depakote (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/depakote.html) Diflucan Side Effects (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/diflucan-side-effects.html) Weight Loss Pills (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/weight-loss-pills.html) Online Pharmacy (http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/online-pharmacy.html) <a href="http://www.healhome.com/pharmacy/lipito
Reply | Thread | Link



(Anonymous)
2006-10-19 14:58 (UTC)
info about vicoprofen
i read all your article and i see you touched interesting themes like drugs, thats the reason because i want talk today about the VICOPROFEN

the most important things about vicoprofen

Vicoprofen, that drug is supplied in a fixed combination tablet form for oral administration. VICOPROFEN combines the opioid analgesic agent, hydrocodone bitartrate, with the nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory (NSAID) agent, ibuprofen tha means is a semisynthetic and centrally acting opioid analgesic.
Vicoprofen is a combination of an opioid analgesic (pain reliever related to narcotics, hydrocodone) and a nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug (ibuprofen). Both medications are effective against pain. It is estimated that one tablet of Vicoprofen is as effective as two tablets of Tylenol #3 (acetaminophen 300 mg plus codeine 30 mg). Vicoprofen was approved by the FDA in 1997.
This medication is used for short-term relief of pain. It is not recommended for such chronic conditions as arthritis.
This medication is taken by mouth, usually one tablet every 4 to 6 hours as necessary for pain. Dosage should not exceed 5 tablets per day. Treatment is for 10 days or less unless otherwise directed. Follow all instructions exactly to receive good pain relief. Contact your doctor or pharmacist if your pain is not relieved. Take this medication with a full glass (8 oz or 240 ml) of water unless your doctor directs you otherwise. Do not lie down for at least 30 minutes after taking this drug. After a period of time, this medicine may not work as well. If this occurs, consult your doctor or pharmacist. Prolonged or excessive use of this product may cause dependency (or addiction). Do not increase your dosage or use more often than directed.

In the same calification we can find drugs like

Hydrocodone is habit forming. It is possible become physically and/or psychologically dependent on the medication. Do not take more than the prescribed amount of medication or take it for longer than is directed by your doctor. Withdrawal effects may occur if hydrocodone and acetaminophen is stopped suddenly after several weeks of continuous use. Your doctor may recommend a gradual reduction in dose.

Lortab, this is Hydrocodone (related to codeine) is in a class of drugs called narcotic analgesics. It relieves pain, the Acetaminophen is a less potent pain reliever that increases the effects of hydrocodone.
Together, acetaminophen and hydrocodone are used to relieve moderate-to-severe pain.
Lortab may also be used for purposes other than those listed in this medication guide.

or Tylenol #3 to relieve pain, allergies, and cold- and flu- related symptoms. All of the Tylenol brand products contain acetaminophen. Allergy and cold products also contain dextromethorphan, pseudoephedrine, and other nasal decongestants, antihistamines, and expectorants. A class of stronger pain relievers contains codeine.


you can find more information about these themes and another ones in our website www.crdrx.com

Have a great day


Reply | Thread | Link



browse
my journal
September 2013